• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

3.0 V6 won't start

Charlie Cheap

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2011, 2016, 196
Make / Model
Ford, Ford, Sun
Engine Size
2.3, 1.6, 2.3, 200
Transmission
Automatic
My credo
Be nice, you may need help later!
I just bought a 94 Ranger with very good body to fix as my daily driver but it has 226,000 miles and ran for only 3 weeks. Now it turns over but won't fire and acts like it has jumped time. With so many miles it is possible and I planned to rebuild it anyway, but thought maybe there is a simple fix others have done. I am a retired ASE mechanic, custom car builder (40 years) and gunsmith...HEY, at almost 71 I have had lots of time to do lots of stuff! Any ideas appreciated.

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
No, probably not valve timing, the 3.0l and 4.0l rarely have timing chain issues.
Does it have a lope when cranking or is it cranking very fast?

Ford systems prime the fuel rail for 2 seconds when key is turned on, do you hear the fuel pump come on with the key?
Turn key on and off a few times, pump is quite loud so you should hear it

Have you tried adding fuel to intake and cranking, to see if it will fire?
If it doesn't then spark is the issue.

'94 was the last year of the distributor in 3.0l, '95 was distributorless
Distributor turning activates the hall effect sensor which activates spark but also sends a pulse to computer to activate injectors.

The TFI ignition system has some failure issues, good read here on checking it: http://www.therangerstation.com/tech_library/TFI_Diagnostic.shtml

Last edited:

Charlie Cheap

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2011, 2016, 196
Make / Model
Ford, Ford, Sun
Engine Size
2.3, 1.6, 2.3, 200
Transmission
Automatic
My credo