• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Anyone up for a hardcore 3.0 build?

cathalex

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
First off, I'm an automotive machinist. I machine and build engines for a living, if you could call it that. I used I to hold the ASE Master Machinist until they quit testing for it.

I've a 2wd 94 Ranger, std cab short bed. 3.0 and 5 speed. 3.08 rear.

My primary reason for this build is not max power, but for max torque and fuel efficiency. It currently has about 194K on it, and it's getting 300 miles a tank. I drive 35 miles total a day.

I'm trying to source a 2002 MY engine. That way I get the strongest block, a 5 counterweight crank, and a pair of hopefully uncracked heads. I have a pair of heads I've already done, but the port work I've done sucks. (I hate porting heads, they never look good to me even though they're probably fine)

I've already done my usual 50 ^ valve job, ordered the custom valves from Manley, gonna do the upper valvetrain with 2V Modular springs and retainers. That stuff will work either way with the heads I have now or the new pair.

Since I'm both a Wiseco and Diamond dealer, gonna see which can get me the best deal on pistons. Gonna go 4032 to set it up as tight as possible. Gonna do the later model domed and strutted piston with wire locks. I'm thinking Total Seal gap less second rings; had a lot of good luck in the past.

Full blueprint on the block, setting it up tight. Close to 0 deck. Gonna make my own torque plate. Balance it to a gnat's ass. Float the rods, steel on steel will be fine for me.

Sending the cam to Delta for a regrind, and using later model timing set, it's narrower.