• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

alignment!

JohnnyUhlar

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Manual
alright so i poked through the tech library and read in several different categories and tried chasing a few threads. i hit a stump pretty hard and really threw out my alignment. then to add to my already bad steering i ended up going off the road and jumping a ditch doing about 30. im new to the whole home mechanic thing with my truck and i cant figure out exactly how to ajust it. i could really use some tips on how to adjust this or maybe some thoughts as to what i should replace. i have whats called accroding the the tech library, negative camber. no idea how to fixd it and i live paycheck to paycheck. i drive a 1997 regular cab, 5spd. front end is a twin I-beam.

chrwilkins30

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
more that likely you don't have adjustable camber bushings so you have no adjustments. Even if you did you can truly align it. First things is get down there and make sure nothings f'ed up.

JohnnyUhlar

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.3L
Transmission
Manual
damn thats not good news.

4x4junkie

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
35x12.50R15
You do have camber/caster bushings on your axle, though they probably are the factory fixed-degree ones, which can be swapped out for fully-adjustable ones if needed.

Is the negative camber occurring on one or both sides? If only one side (or is much worse on one side than the other), I'd be checking for a bent spindle.

06RangerXLT

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic