• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Power window fuse

masanders

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.5 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
2.5L
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Tire Size
235/75/15
My credo
Don't get louder, improve your argument.
Alright...I'm new to this whole forum thing so any help/redirection would be appreciated!

Recently my driver's side power window regulator got stuck(?) while it was completely down. Checked the fuse (30a) and it was blown. I've had this issue before so I bought three fuses and blew two of them within 5 minutes. I should buy stock in fuses! Rather than waste the last fuse trying to get the window to come back up I took my truck to a Ford dealership to get it looked at (figured it was a short in the wiring).

I left my truck there yesterday with a blown 30a fuse and the window down. I picked up my truck today and there was a 60a fuse in it's place and the window up.

Now the question is this...Is this safe? If so, cool. If not...WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?!? Oh...and the dealership had the nerve to say it would cost me $650 to fix everything. Not on my watch!

I pulled the fuse out just in case.

2006 Ford Ranger XLT
Regular cab
Long bed

Mark

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

Wow, that's a dealership story.

The 60amp fuse is technically OK since it would blow with a direct short, a penny stuck in there would be a cause for concern, lol.

But seems like an odd fix.

So just to be clear, the window rolled down OK, didn't drop or act funny recently.
And when you tried to roll it up it wouldn't, and we assume that's when the fuse blew.

And when you put in another 30amp fuse it was OK until you tried to roll up the window?
or did it just blow when inserted