• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

engine temp help!

fisherbear

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Transmission
Manual
I have a 1994 Mazda b3000... basically a v6 ranger.... I am used to the temp gauge being around 30%... I live in Houston and it's hot... a few days ago on the way home from a training the temp went above the half way mark to around 70% which freaked me out... It was still in the normal range but way above what I'm used to seeing... I'm a teacher and I NEED a dependable ride... I bought a new thermostat but one of the bolts is rounded out and I can't remove it... I don't want to break the head off the bolt and cause a bigger head ache.... I replaced the coolant sensor as it broke in half... I replaced the coolant and drove it around for 30 mins... no overheating but it's right at 50% on temp gauge... my question is where is the temp gauge normally on your v6 ranger or b3000? I'm trying to figure out how concerned I should be... thanks, Johnny

Rearanger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
50% sounds about right. If you've got access to a laser temp gun you can point it just at the stat location to see actual temp for better idea.

bucko

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic