• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Creating an off road racing truck

Andy833

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
V6 4.0
Transmission
Manual
I'm interested in building an off road truck to race in not for the near future with time after build and practice and testing, i was wondering if anyone could provide me with a list of upgrades to do to a truck as I am new to this, a list perhaps around these guideline,

(Vehicles built from a 2 wheel or 4 wheel drive mini or mid-sized pickup having a maximum stock wheelbase of 127”.
Texas Desert Racing Association - 7S ClassAka: 7100 (BITD)
Horsepower: 175-265
Wheel Travel: 12 Front, 16-20 Rear
Weight: 3200-4000
Top Speed: 100+
Cost New: $20,000-60,000
Cost Per Prep: $2,000-5,000
BASIC RULES
Suspensions Components:
Front and Rear suspension must be of the same manufacturer, shape, size and configuration as the stock vehicle being used.
All suspension components except shocks and rear leaf springs will reamin in original stock locations and mounting methods.
A-arms, I-beams, and front axles must remain stock length; material may be added for strength and stock mounting locations retained.
Rear springs may be lengthened to that of the longest stock production rear leaf spring as delivered by the manufacturer. (57 1/2″)
Engine:
Must be of the same manufacturer basic design and type with a max of 6 cylinders.
Must use the stock block and cylinder heads as delivered for highway use from the manufacturer.
Updating and predating is allowed within the vehicle chassis and body series.
Maximum displacement of 3000cc.)

Thanks and I appreciate your time, I have a 96' ford ranger, 4.0 4x4 regular cab

alwaysFlOoReD

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS Banner 2012-2015
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
'91, '80, '06
Make / Model
Ford, GMC,Dodge
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual