• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Tuning SRW

1993Ranger4x4

Ford Technician
Firefighter
EMT / Paramedic
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.Slow
Transmission
Manual
Okay I am a complete newb to the CB game, and just have one to run trails, for emergencies, and for the fire department members.

I have a cheap Radio and a cheap antenna.

I have a 17" Mag mount on the rood of my reg cab ranger and my radio is Just a cheap Radio Shack CB. Here are the specs of the CB:

-Radio System Type Mobile
- Channels 40 Channels
-Power 6 watts
-Frequency Range All 40 CB Channels (Class D) 26.96527.405 MHz
-Controls SQUELCH, VOLUME, Channel 9 and 19 Priority Switch,
-ChannelSelector, PUSH TO TALK (microphone)
-Two-Way Radio Display Information Channel Indicator, TX and RX LED indicators

What should i tune this to?

Spott

TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
You need to get a SWR meter, there are plenty available cheaply that do an adequate job. Also, make sure you have a really good ground before you start; a length of copper braid from a piece of leftover coax, attached to the chassis of the radio and the body of the truck, works very well.

1. Hook the SWR meter up between the radio and the antenna, tune to channel 20 (about the middle of the band), switch the meter to "forward", and key the mic. It doesn't transmit much of a signal without some audio, so I like to whistle a loud, clear tone in the microphone.

2. Adjust the knob on the meter, until the peak reading has the needle lined up with the "reference" or "forward" mark on the scale.