• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Bench Bleeding a Master Clutch Cylinder

bernerboy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Ford
Engine Size
Both are 2.9
Transmission
Manual
Evening guys

Call me a dummy, but for the life of me I can't seem to get the Master Clutch Cylinder bench bled.

I brought this 88 Bronco II that the previouse owner couldn't get the new slave cylinder bled.

This vehicle has the 2.9 is a 4 X 4 with the FM145 trans and onlyl has 92 k listed on the odometer

Started to bled the supposely new slave cylinder and found out the dummy used Tranny fluid instead of Brake Fluid. Needless to say, I have replace the slave cylinder and brought a new hydraulic line and new master clutch
cylinder.

New slave is install and now I am working on the Master. I have never done one of these before I am not young (55) and the old systems I worked on as a young man are not like these newer ones. I am from the days of the old mechanical clutch systems

I have read everything I can find in Ranger station but can't find anything on Bench Bleeding the Master Clutch cylinder.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks from the Dummy in Michigan

Gene

fastpakr

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
U.S. Military - Veteran
V8 Engine Swap
TRS 20th Anniversary
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
285/75-16
Unbolt it from the firewall and point it so the angled section at the bottom is low (it makes sense if you look at it - there's a raised section that traps air sometimes), then run a bleed line from the slave into the reservoir. Cycle the piston until the bleed line purges the air the came out of the master, then close the valve and bolt it all back together.