• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Wiring for fog lights?

Special Ed

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hi all,

I have an '04 Ranger that has no fog lights but it does have the valances(?) for them (the holes are there with plastic inserts but no lights). My question is, would the truck already be wired (just not connected) or will I have to do all of the work of wiring myself? I'm not an electrician nor a real good back yard mechanic so I don't know what to look for.

The other option (where I'm leaning) is a bull bar where I can mount some nice big lights instead. Still, I'd like to know what I'd be up against if I went the route of using the stock locations.

Cheers,
John

09ajmaros

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0 Flex
Transmission
Automatic
I'm not to sure if there is a wire to tap into for a setup for factory fog lights, except the parking lamps, but if there isn't then lights on a bull bar is a good idea and a hookup can just be added to the battery terminals.

If I didn't have factory lights,but I do, there must be a line you can tap into or some sort of fuse or relay. HTH

Special Ed

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Yes, this helps. Thank you very much for answering. I'll poke around this week to see what I can find.

Cheers,
John

V8 Level II

Dec 2008 STOTM Winner, 2008 Truck Of The Year
U.S. Military - Veteran
V8 Engine Swap
MTOTM Winner
RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Supercharged 5.0L
Transmission
Automatic
Check behind the valance near the rad support on either side for connectors with tan/orange and black wires. Then check behind the radio bezel for an unused connector with TN/OR, LB/BK, LB/RD and BK wires.