• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

broken ignition lock removal (attempted theft)

swafford501

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
What's up everyone new to the forums and rangers..

I have an 87 ranger xlt 2.9 I park it in my driveway and last night it was broken into by a great person that tried to stick a screw driver in the ignition and now my key won't turn at all from what ice seen the key needs to be turned to on to remove the cylinder

Like I said I'm new to rangers so any help would be appreciated

swafford501

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Gotta make it to work Monday please any info would help these scumbags beat the hell out of it

SenorNoob

TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
1.5" Front + 4" Rear
Tire Size
245-70-R16
I think the standard method is to drill it out... VERY carefully I might add. Don't wanna cut something you need later!

snoranger

Professional money waster
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
RBV's on Boost
ASE Certified Tech
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
GMRS Radio License
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
'79,'94,'02,'23
Make / Model
All Fords
Engine Type
2.3 EcoBoost
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
My credo
I didn't ask for your life story, just answer the question!
For old ford ignition switches I usually just hammer a big Craftsman screw driver into the lock (craftsman screwdrivers have square shafts, not round like most). Then take a large adjustable and turn the screwdriver. It almost always works.

swafford501

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
So I drilled it out and it still won't come out it moves back and forth just won't come out I also tried using the screw driver and wrench but I only had a smaller craftsmen and it almost broke trying to get it to spin