• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Dropped Ranger to Prerunner build!

Svrdram

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger extended
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hey guys, newbie here. I've got a a dropped 02 that I'm pretty decided that it's time to turn it into a prerunner. I've been riding bikes and q uads since I was a teenager, now that I'm in my 30s I would like to play in the dunes and be in something rather then be on it. Now mind you I'm not sure what I'm doing here but let's just say that I don't have a problem with fabrication.

The Ranger.

Current build, my Ram.

MastuhWaffles

11/2014 OTOTM Winner
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0L SOHC
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Tire Size
My credo
I need more sleep.
Sounds like fun, but how crazy do you want to go? Something that gets out there and gets dirty and still makes a good DD, or something that gets towed on a trailer?

Svrdram

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger extended
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I'd like something that I could still DD but with that being said I have a warped sense when it comes to what is a DD. Drove a bagged out ACR neon with a full cage for 3 winters while my f350 sat in the garage, and currently been using the Ranger as my DD (winter add all) with only 3ins of ground clearance lol.

But what I am picturing is a full bed cage, trailing arms and coil overs out back, front engine cage and some long travel arms. I'm not apposed to running rear leafs if the price is significantly less then a trailing arm setup yet still contains good handling. And to be 100% honest, this might only see the dunes several times a year. I just want something that I can have fun with and still drive.. Though about building a 2 seat mini buggy but don't want to store it.