• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Just inherited an '88 Ranger STD cab longbed 4x4

toomanytoyzz

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
A little back story.....my father-in-law bought a 1987 Ford 4x4 from the original owner a year ago about two months before retiring from a 40 year career in law enforcement. It's a creampuff with minimal rust, and runs and drives great. To put it in perspective he has a 2011 Jeep Wrangler which has VERY little miles on it since he purchased the Ranger. Basically, he got the bug on these fine rigs.

He stumbled upon the "inherited" Ranger I am posting about on Craigslist a week before Christmas. He had back surgery and asked me to take look at it. Though I do not know much about these vehicles I have been doing bodywork for almost 20 years with a strong consitration on vintage 4x4 trucks and SUV's. Currently performing a frame off resto on a 1972 Toyota Landcruiser FJ40, but that is a whole other topic:D.

I took a look at it and it was OK for the price in my opinion. It ran good, 4WD worked fine and the body was/is in decent shape for an east coast vehicle. I got the seller to $900 and sealed the deal. I've driven it about a dozen times to and from work and got to really like it. It's an unmolsted original Ranger but does need some help as well as some upgrades which is my main reason I've come to this site for help.