• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Skyjacker 6” m95 performance lift kit thoughts?

RangerRough

GMRS Radio License
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
245 CID
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
6.5"
Tire Size
35" KM3
Hello community!
I am having a difficult time choosing a lift kit for my 96 ranger 4x4. TRS recommends skyjacker and I am new to building a ranger. I was thinking of buying the 6” m95 performance lift kit for $2400, so I did some research about skyjacker kits and got some disturbing results, mostly people saying the bushing get wrecked super fast and the kits tend to sag fast as well mostly jeeps and non ranger vehicles. A lot of these posts were pretty old and prolly not too relevent to the current kits. I trust TRS and their vast knowledge about rangers, so i am here to ask you the community about their experiences with skyjacker lift kits and their performance and lasting durability. Or does anyone recommend other kits? Or like a ranked list of lift kits. I want to build my ranger to last because I dont have unlimited amounts of funds and i like to do things the right way the first time.

Jim Oaks

Just some guy with a website
Administrator
Founder / Site Owner
Supporting Vendor
Article Contributor
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS Banner 2012-2015
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
GMRS Radio License
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1996 / 2021
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0 / 2.3 Ecoboost
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
6-inches
Tire Size
33x12.50x15
I used a Skyjacker Class II kit on my 1996 Ford Ranger and loved it. I would get the M95 shocks with it. People will probably chime in and say Bilstein. The M95 are great shocks.

I didn't notice my kit sag any, even after it was 10 years old.

ericbphoto

Overlander in development