• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

'87 2.3L Timing Belt Help

spikeekips

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Forgive me if I missed a post about this already, but I searched and couldn't find anything about my particular situation. I just spent the better part of the afternoon replacing my timing belt, and when I got everything put back together the truck won't start. While I am new to Rangers, I am not new to engine work. I thought I read something in one of the forums that said to line up the auxiliary shaft sprocket mark with the the Cam sprocket timing mark, but apparently I was mistaken. It sounds like the ignition is trying to fire on the wrong part of the stroke. My question is, is there a better way to see if all the sprockets are lined up correctly, other than making sure the crank is at TDC, making sure the auxiliary shaft is set up so that the distributor is pointing at the #1 wire, and the Cam sprocket is lined up with its timing mark? Or is that even correct?
I have a Chilton manual, but it doesn't seem to reference auxiliary shaft timing marks.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

shadetree

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Explorer Sport
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
There are no timing marks for the aux shaft on an 87.

Cam has a triangle on one of the teeth. This mark is aligned with the center of three marks on the rear timing cover approx the 5 o'clock position.

The crank keyway slot should point straight up. There is a small dot on one of the teeth of the crank gear. This dot will point to the edge of a gap in the crank seal cover at about the 1 o'clock position.

You will need to align the rotor cap to fire on #1 spark plug.