• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Advice and tips from crawlers?

RougeRanger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
So I recently bought a 94 3.0 4x4 xlt and going through the front end. This is my first build ever and I'm having a hard time deciding if I should put ANY money or time with the d35 or if I should just go ahead and do a sas!?

I dont have any experience with rock crawling however it intrigues me and I have always wanted to tear a truck apart and build my own version! I've read A LOT in the how to tech section and have seen small things such as grinding down the shoulders of u-joints for more angle, black Bill's locking mod etc. I am building on a budget and thinking of what I can do ahead of time to prevent future issues with the d35.

My thoughts are to throw some washers under the springs for now, [lift coils soon hopefully] and either a shackle flip or possibly 64" Chevy leave conversion in rear (want to read into it more) and weld the rear end just to be able to get started wheeling!

To those of you with experience, am I waiting my time and money with the d35? Also, what else can I do to have a more capable rig?

4x4junkie

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
2.9L V6
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
35x12.50R15
What size tires are you shooting for on this build? This will dictate more than anything whether there is good reason to SAS or not.

RougeRanger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Honestly I'm trying to be realistic here so just 33s for now to get started wheelin, then maybe 35s SAS later

4x4junkie

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Engine Size
2.9L V6