• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

4.0 SOHC Compatability

Cnodes

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I'm brand new to the ranger station and new to rangers. I admit, I'm not a great mechanic, but have built a few 302's and a 351W many years ago. I bought my son a 2003 ranger edge, 4.0, 4x4 with a blown motor. I found a 4.0 from a 2004 ranger and the salvage yard said it was compatible, but I would need to swap the timing chain cover and the intake. There are a few more "gizmo's" on the 04 motor that I'm not familiar with. The drivers side exhaust manifold has a tube that leads to some sort of an emission looking part that also bolts to the left side of the upper intake. The 03 engine has this port basically blocked off. Does anyone know:
1. Do I need to swap the timing cover?
2. Do I need to swap the intake?
3. And what is that emission looking part mounted on the top of the motor just to the left towards the front of the upper intake?

I realize a pic is worth a thousand words, but I don't have any...sure do miss the old 302's! Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Clay

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
31X10.50X15
1) No.
2) Not really, but not no.
3) Its an EGR valve. The tube then, logically, is the EGR tube.