• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Brother who thinks he is my network administrator

The Jester Race

OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1987, 2009
Make / Model
Ford, BMW
Engine Size
2.9, 4.0
Transmission
Manual
My brother is a self proclaimed computer god. He isn't, he just knows a little more about computers then I do. And he thinks it is some funny sh!t to mess with my computer. He has done everything from changing my passwords to locking me out of the network.

Recently he changed my account type to a guest account and now I'm having a problem changing it back to administrator. I can change my account type to were it says I'm an administrator but I still have limited access. I cannot install or uninstall programs, cant access all of my files or do anything else that I would normally be able to do. How do I fix this?

Also there is an encrypted folder that he has on my computer that I cant get into. Any help with this would be appreciated.

-Jester

Twizzler09

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.2L/256CI V6
Transmission
Manual
I'm assuming your running Windows XP?

First off, I'd turn the guest account off, completely. Make it inaccessible.

Next, create a password reset disk (you will need a floppy drive and an empty floppy disk....and I LOVE this feature, once upon a time I used this feature to circumvent being grounded off my computer :D )

To do so, go to your control panel, open your "User Accounts", select your username, and on the left side of the window find where it says "Prevent a Forgotten Password", click that and it'll bring up a new window called the "Forgotten Password Wizard". Follow its instructions, and the next time he changes your password, pop that disk in and reboot the computer... it should give you an opportunity to use the reset disk.