• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

A4LD not moving

97fordrunner

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I just bought my first BII off craigslist for $200 very little rust. the guy said the tranny line blew and puked the oil and it quit moving, I just got it home and have been taking a closer look at it and the fluid is over full, when I turn it on it dosen't leak anywhere, when I shift thru the gears it the motor lugs down a little like it is going into gear but it dosen't move, No noises from anywhere tried in all t-case ranges would it probably be a nuked tranny? I'm not that good at Auto diagnostics please help, thanks guys I'll post pics later.

Jon

Last edited:

Hewgull

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Pontiac
Engine Size
2.2 liters of clankity bang
Transmission
Manual
First I'd drain some fluid so it's not over full. Then you can look at the fluid to see if there are any big chunks of material in it. It would help if you had a pressure gauge to put in the diagnostic port on the tranny to see what kind of pressure the pump is putting out. It could be the pump is nuked.

97fordrunner

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I can give that a try, where should the pressure be at?

cocoasranger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Be sure to check inside the trans filter for metal. Mine lugged, but would not move and when I removed the trans filter and shook it there were a dozen rollers from a transmission bearing inside it. Hope your problem is less costly.:icon_cheers:

97fordrunner

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I am kinda expecting to re-build it so nothing is gonna suprise me I guess.

Hewgull

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model