• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

85/86 ranger Help pls.

majoestic

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Automatic
hello im kinda new to 2.8 ford engines but i have a old ranger that has great potential no rust great frame used for work and had a head to crack just one but the machine shop i took it to said it was the worst blown head he has ever saw and is thinking that maybe my block could be busted also. The Problem is im on a tight budget due to christmas around the corner and need to get the truck running condition till march or a lil l8rcause im rideless back and forth to work. on my title it says 85/86 4x4 ranger cause my rnger was made in the middle of the fuel injected 2.9's i have a 1989 2.9 that was running i took out of a van its fuel injection and i also have a 3.0 that came out of some car actually had it for yrs in a garage my question can i put the 2.9 in place of the 2.8 and just use the 2.8 intake on the 2.9 i want to keep the carb cause i have no idea how to wire the comp and fuel regs up at all that is if my block is fine with no cracks im clueless but in need of some answers and cant get no straight up answers any info and suggestions is greatly needed and all opions but all i have to work with is 2 running engines 2.9 3.0 and maybe a good 2.8 block still in the truck Please help.

Original_Ranger84

TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1984, 1999
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.8L, 3.0L
Transmission
Manual