• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Looking Into A Swap

LittleBigFoot

V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
79-00
Make / Model
Mostly Ford.
Engine Size
Building a 408w
Transmission
Automatic
So I'm looking into runing a leafspring suspension system up front on a 2000 Ranger along with an axle swap. I'm doing my research, but what all do I need? I have limited knowledge on a swap like this and I'm sorta leeching off a friend and his dad's know-how and fab skills.

Anyone done the swap/conversion?

Any links to push me in the right direction?

Any and all help appreciated

Thanks,
Adam

Explorin94

Law Enforcement
Firefighter
EMT / Paramedic
U.S. Military - Veteran
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I have just aquired a front axle along with leafs from a 92 wrangler. It is a dana 30 and stock leafs. I picked up the perches last night and plan on doing some measuring in the next couple of days. I got to get some steel to make the leafs fit the front and make mounts for the rear. I will probably post pics as soon as I start to show some progress. Kinda before and after pics.

Later Brett

LittleBigFoot

V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
79-00
Make / Model
Mostly Ford.
Engine Size
Building a 408w
Transmission
Automatic
Thanks man, pics would be great. What are you doing to adapt the steering etc.?

Explorin94

Law Enforcement
Firefighter
EMT / Paramedic
U.S. Military - Veteran
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
I haven't got that far yet

Toreadorranger

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual