• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Just bought a 2005 Ranger...Questions.

2OOL

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3 Liters of fury!
Transmission
Automatic
I have needed a new car for a long while. Today, I found a 2005 Ranger, stripped down version, with 87,000 miles, and a new engine for $4300 bucks. Previous owner had a radiator leak, kept driving and a while later, killed the engine. A reputable shop rebuilt the whole enchilada and now I own it.

The truck is relatively clean, some bumps and bruises, but nothing a good cleaning will not help. The last Ranger I had was 10 years ago and I got smashed between 2 semi's on the freeway. I loved that truck!

So, Since I am new to the whole scene again, What do I need to know about these things? I am surprised with the performance (relatively) of this little 4. It doesn't compare to my father's 2005 Saleen supercharged Mustang, but it holds it's own.

I know it's a 2.3 but what is the architecture of this engine. I see Duramax and Zetech or whatever it is, but what do I have? What years were similar for these trucks? What are some good websites to view so I don't bother all of you with these dumb questions?

I appreciate all of your time. Sorry to bother you all, but after reading the posts on here, and seeing how cool you all seem...not to mention how excited I am, well I just couldn't resist!

Roy

Ps. Pretty darn clean Carfax report too. Yes, I ran one.

exbass94

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2006, 1994
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC, 4.0 OHV
Transmission
Automatic
2.3l Duratec. 143 hp, about 154 ft lb of torque I believe. Fun, peppy engines that I *think* are built by Mazda. I drive one at work that has over 216k miles and it's still running strong. They were first introduced in mid-2001 and are still offered in the 2008s. That's about all I know about them.

wv_snranger