• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

97 2.3l timing belt question

Boomers13

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
I'm in the middle of changing the cam position sensor and timing belt on a 97 ranger 2wd 5sp I just picked up. This is my first time doing anything like this. It barely ran and threw a code for cam position sensor. It was still drivable enough to get from the back yard to the driveway. I got everything pulled off including the front cover and when I try to line everything up at tdc ( crank key way at 12 o'clock, diamond to diamond and triangle to triangle) either the cam or oil pump is 180° out. If the diamond for the oil pump lines up then the cam is out and vise versa. What do I need to do to fix it? Set the cam right and spin the oil pump 180° after I remove the belt? Any help will be greatly appreciated, I need this truck running asap.

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
With belt off you should be able to move everything into it's correct position, then install the belt.

And just as a heads up:
The cam and oil pump gears are twice the diameter of the Crank gear, this is on purpose.
If you rotate the crank 360deg(one rotation) with timing belt on, the cam and oil pump gear will have only rotated 180deg, that is correct.
Rotate crank one more full rotation and all the marks should line up again.
I recommend you do this just to check that tensioner is working and the marks are correct.

so crank and cam are 2 to 1 ratio

This is true for all 4-stroke engines, piston has to go up and down twice for one complete cycle(4-strokes), so twice around for the crank, intake and exhaust valve each only open once per cycle, so cam only needs one rotation.

Last edited:

Boomers13

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic